Blog Tour Dream Cast & Giveaway: H2O by Virginia Bergin

On tour with Sourcebooks.

Welcome to my tour stop for H2O by Virginia Bergin! This book... It was quite a crazy ride.
Made me want to go stock up on water. Seriously. You can check out my review here
You'll also definitely want to check out the author's very fun dream cast below and enter the giveaway...

H2OH2O
(The Rain #1)
by Virginia Bergin
YA Thriller, Dystopian
Paperback336 Pages
October 7th 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire

Summary

In this tense, psychological drama, debut author Virginia Bergin crafts a tale of desperation and survival about a world in chaos. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or tap water is dead. With a fascinatingly unique premise, a heroine that takes daunting risks and slim chances of survival, H2O’s fast-paced, unputdownable mystery and emotional survivor’s story will appeal to readers who enjoyed The Fifth Wave and The Hunger Games.

One minute 16 year old Ruby Morris is having her first real kiss at a party at Zach’s, and the next she’s being bundled inside the house by Zach’s parents, yelling at them to get inside. They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.” Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or has washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father—if he’s even still alive.

  


Dream Cast

Hey . . . It’s me, Virginia Bergin . . . I wrote H2O and – you want to know the weirdest thing? It started off as a film script, way back in 2007 . . . So I have thought about my dream cast more than is healthy – but even though the book is set in the UK, I’ve thrown in a few American suggestions: let me know if there’s anyone you think might be better!

CASPAR McCLOUD
Ruby’s heart throb and first love . . . Uh; it’s gotta be

Harry Styles

Ha! Ruby was almost going to name one of her guinea-pigs Mr Styles (the hair!) . . . But really; the question you have to ask yourself is . . .  Did Caspar really love Ruby, or was he just looking for a record deal? (Ruby’s dad, Dominic, works in the music industry.) Hmm . . . 

DARIUS SPRATT
Well . . . I really wanted to cast:

Moss from the IT Crowd (Richard Ayoade) 

Or even

Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory (Jim Parsons)

Or maybe

Michael Cera

But they’d be too old to play Darius! WAH! So unless someone can come up with a better idea, the only other young super-nerd I can think of is:

Simon Bird (from The Inbetweeners)

Imagine . . . If . . . THIS WAS THE LAST BOY ON EARTH! AAAAAARRRRRGGGGHHH!

But I think Darius is really sweet – and much more attractive than Ruby will admit. We’ll just have to see how things are going to work out between them . . .

THE PRINCESS
I love this kid so much! She’s so important! She doesn’t speak (so far?!), so we don’t really know a single thing about her, other than that she’s smart, brave and a survivor . . .

Rubina Ali (from Slumdog Millionaire)

SASKIA
EURCH! You are so meant to hate her! To me, she is like:

Ashley Tisdale (High School Musical)

And (although I think she is awesome) I could imagine this girl having A LOT of fun with this role:

Taylor Swift (she and Ruby could bond over animals)

Except . . . what if Ruby has got this girl all wrong?! In H2O, anything is possible . . .

MEET THE REST OF THE CAST:

Ruby’s mum, Rebecca:

Jane Kaczmarek (Malcolm In The Middle)

Ruby’s bird-watching step-dad, Simon:

Neil Flynn (The Middle, Scrubs), already in full decontamination mode

King Xar:

Samuel Larsen (from Glee)

(He’d better get a pac-a-mac on quick or he’ll get rained on.)

The scary posh bloke:

Alan Rickman (Professor Snape!)

Oh . . . AND WHAT ABOUT RUBY?!


Nah . . . I’m not going to say!

It’s been fun doing this casting, but the truth is I really hate describing ANY character’s physical appearance.  In H2O, Ruby is probably a white girl (because I wanted to mess around with the whole ‘orange fake-tan’ thing!) . . . But that’s pretty much all you know about her.

I will never, ever say who I think she might look like . . . But you can!

All suggestions welcome! (Because the film rights for H2O are up for sale RIGHT NOW!).


About the Author

Virginia Bergin is the author of the young adult novel, H2O, a story about what happens when a totally ordinary (and utterly unique, because everyone is) teenager finds herself in a global apocalypse. Virginia works as a writer for TV, eLearning and corporate projects. Most recently, she has been working in online education, creating interactive courses for The Open University. She lives in Bristol, England.



Giveaway

Copy of H2O (US only)
Ends November 1st

a Rafflecopter giveaway

15 comments

  1. If water became deathly .... first I would boil and test on someone - if it was OK after boiling I would drink coffee only *Oh the joys in life*!!!


    If it was still deadly *God forbid no coffee!! * I would drink all that nasty soda stuff ... ugh!!


    However, I would start with bottled water and soda water .... I mean death by coke is not something I'm aiming for !!! :P

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really like the idea of this and I hope the book follows through!!


    Thanks very much for sharing your review :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh so sad .... I've enjoyed everything so far!! Forget everyone else you should just do whatever you want to do - we're here to support you !!!


    Ok .... so this week I lost power for a few days :( I know, in this day and age ..... so I started reading some really old PB's called the Flashman Papers by George MacDonald Fraser and he's probably been dead longer than I've been alive lol!! :) Not quite he died sometime in the 2008 but was born way before all of us in 1925 .... *gasp* Old dude on deck lol !!! :P



    But you know ... I laughed until I cried and almost P'd (if you know what I mean) myself!!! These tales are about the original bad boy of the 1800's and all his shenanigans etc ... he's the original anti-hero and to be honest there's nothing good about him - apart from the entertainment value!!!


    If you're open minded and manage to get your hands on some library copies - try them!! Not only are they a history lesson, they're hilarious and a life lesson to us all!!! At the very least you'll walk away with a few hours entertainment ....

    ReplyDelete
  4. Selena de la cruz10/24/14, 5:16 PM

    I would of course stock up on water bottles since that's probably what's gonna be scarce since people will be taking from stores. Right? I guess it's a good thing I have a CVS and a Liquor store right in front of me. Bonus. I would also stock up on Arizona green tea and SoBe, my favorite drinks. *bliss*

    ReplyDelete
  5. Isn't it sad that even with the MC rattling on and I not liking her that I still feel there is potential for this series? I have heard the MC has really split reviewers into two groups: really liked it and thought it was realistic and really couldn't stand it. The MC really did drive me crazy, but it was totally outrageous and a very crazy situation she was in. Glad you enjoyed the review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. You never know. Maybe I'll have a lot of favorites in the future and it will post on a regular basis. I'm just not going to always plan on it. Glad you enjoy the feature. :)


    Oh my goodness! They sound hilarious!! I probably won't get to it anytime soon. *sigh* I forget sometimes that I'm insane when it comes to requesting review copies or accepting review copies and I have a huge pile to get through. I'll add it to my tbr though.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Lol! I love that you'd want to test it on someone first. Ha! Or you could die on diet mountain dew. They say there's enough acid and stuff in that to slowly eat your body. Isn't that a lovely though?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh, SoBe! I love a lot of their drinks. *sigh*

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hmmm…not sure about this one. I do like the fact that the teenager is portrayed as just a normal teen thrown into this disaster. So many YA books have Katniss type MCs, which are good, but sometimes it's nice for a change of pace to have someone I can identify with. But yeah, it would probably annoy me if she didn't grow and change a lot throughout the book. ~Pam

    ReplyDelete
  10. Selena de la cruz10/25/14, 6:58 PM

    I know right? So many flavors!!! Whenever I go to the store I feel like buying all the different flavors but....of course I can't.

    ReplyDelete
  11. SenorSensible10/26/14, 12:20 PM

    I'd have to learn to consume a lot less liquids than I do now. If I could get purified water I'd hoard it like crazy. Otherwise we're headed for the coke and beer diet, not very healthy.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Such a great cast and you've selected Alan Rickman, he's so perfect for any bookish movie!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Definitely not my most favorite MC. It is good to not have the same types of MCs, but I think I like just a little more thought process to take place.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Sherry Hoernig11/1/14, 3:37 PM

    GREAT answer!!! I laughed so hard I almost wet myself...lololol!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sherry Hoernig11/1/14, 3:41 PM

    Drop on my knees & start praying......Then I would do what I could to stock as much safe/healthy water as possible. Oh & hand disinfectant......gotta have something to clean my hands after tasks that are rather shall we say yucky.... & lotion to help clean the body, & deodoarant...and check on my friends & family, which would actually be first after the praying.........

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top