Waiting on Wednesday: Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell and Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am unbelievably excited for these two YA releases in July and August! The covers are fabulous and both sound like unique spins on old folk/fairy tales. Here are my WOW picks for this week:

MechanicaMechanica 
by Betsy Cornwell
YA Fantasy, Fairy Tale
Hardcover, 304 pages
August 4th 2015 by Clarion Books

Summary

Nicolette’s awful stepsisters call her “Mechanica” to demean her, but the nickname fits: she learned to be an inventor at her mother’s knee. Her mom is gone now, though, and the Steps have turned her into a servant in her own home.

But on her sixteenth birthday, Nicolette discovers a secret workshop in the cellar and begins to dare to imagine a new life for herself. Could the mysterious books and tools hidden there—and the mechanical menagerie, led by a tiny metal horse named Jules—be the key to escaping her dreary existence? With a technological exposition and royal ball on the horizon, the timing might just be perfect for Nicolette to earn her freedom at last.

Gorgeous prose and themes of social justice and family shine in this richly imagined Cinderella retelling about an indomitable inventor who finds her prince . . . but realizes she doesn't want a fairy tale happy ending after all.

Pre-order from:
   

Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood, #1)
Silver in the Blood
(Silver in the Blood #1)
by Jessica Day George
YA Fantasy, Fairy Tale
Hardcover, 358 pages
July 7th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Summary

A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

Pre-order from:
   


Are either of these on your list?


4 comments

  1. I've read a couple fairy tale retellings from Jessica Day George and liked them. This one sounds very unique!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Megan McDade4/22/15, 10:16 AM

    Fairy Tale retelling I really struggle with. But I Mechanica sounds good. I also like the sound of Sliver in the blood

    My WOW http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/waiting-on-wednesday-33.html

    ReplyDelete
  3. Gabs @ My Full Bookshelf4/22/15, 1:10 PM

    Oh yes to both of these! The cover for Mechanica is so very gorgeous...possibly my favorite cover of all time. And Jessica Day George...I mean, she's a fantastic author, how could I not want to read her new book! :D Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Both great picks! I hope you like them! Check out my WoW!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top