If you like scifi, check out Cargo by Jen Castleberry (Review)

CargoCargo
YA Dystopian, SciFi
Paperback & ebook, 182 Pages
January 17th 2016

Summary

The earth has been reduced to a singular continent, governed by extra-terrestrials, collapsed by nuclear weapons residue and wracked with radiation sickness. Only one viable territory remains, and access there is restricted by a mysterious selection process. Everyone hopes to be chosen for transport. Everyone but Cass.

Seventeen year old Cassidy Hartinger has spent the past eleven years living in a government-maintained bunker. She should be thrilled when a handsome transporter arrives to take her to the Reservation. So why does she feel like he's dragging her, kicking and screaming, straight into the anti-paradise?

Faced with gun-wielding survivalists and elemental catastrophes, will Cass make it more than two steps out of the bunker? Will her journey to peace and safety in the Reservation turn out to be the most perilous thing she's encountered so far?

Fast-paced action and a tumultuous teenage romance will keep readers begging for more installments of The Reservation Trilogy!

   
(Affiliate links included.)

My Review

CARGO was story that built as it went, with a steady pace, complex characters, and a story that was engaging from beginning to end. It read like a movie where the initial chapters give the reader some history as to the situation the world is in and what the protagonist knows or understands. Then it slowly builds upon that as she's older and begins a new part of her life. The writing was well-done and the ending is set up perfectly for book two, which readers will be anticipating getting their hands on. Would recommend to scifi readers and those who enjoy stories like The Host and The 5th Wave.

I think one of the biggest draws, for me, to this story was how I felt that Cassidy's reactions were so raw and honest. This is really how a girl like this would react in a situation like this. Because it felt genuine and not controlled or forced, it kept me immersed in this story. I really liked Nathan. He hasn't completely unveiled himself, but I think he really does care for Cass. Then there are other characters who we only get glimpses of, but I think will play roles in the future.

I liked how the romance in this one simmered. It wasn't rushed and it didn't overtake the story. It also made sense, with the attraction and the way the characters reacted. I appreciated that the author could have made this a love triangle, but didn't. *cheers*

I still have so many questions and I'm still trying to figure out the role that both Nathan and Cassidy will play. I have a few ideas. I'm also curious to get a real look at the so-called aliens without me guessing who they are or what they may be. I'd also like a look at the place Cass is going to. I'm a little bummed I'll have to wait so long for book two. There wasn't a huge cliffhanger at the end, but there are so many questions that I want answered.

In the end, was it what I wished for? Yes. This was a scifi that I really enjoyed and can't wait to find out what will happen next.

Content: Some innuendo and blunt descriptions and one f-word, otherwise clean.

Source: Received a complimentary copy through The Fantastic Flying Book Club tours, which did not affect my review in any way.


Feel free to check out a fun guest post from the author from her tour here.

No comments

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top