Powered by Blogger.

I can't wait for... The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)


Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. If you're continuing with WOW, feel free to link those up as well! Find out more here.

The author's name speaks for itself. I'm really looking forward to a bunch of mini treats from her! It's my pick this week...

Heartbeat of the Bitterroot by Janice Mineer (Blog Tour Review)


This was an interesting read from the first page. Read my full review below...

Heartbeat of the Bitterroot
by Janice Mineer
Adult Romance, Women's Fiction
Paperback & ebook, 294 Pages
June 13th 2017 by Sweetwater Books

Summary

Jenna Clark always tried to bury her bleak beginnings in Montana’s Bitterroot Valley, but a newfound secret about her father’s identity forces Jenna to dig up her past. While there, mysterious threats and dangers suddenly enter her life that bring about an unexpected man of her dreams–Michael Callahan. After a lifetime of running away from family and love will Jenna find the courage to confront her past and step forward into the future?

(Affiliate links included - I receive a small kickback if you make a purchase using my links.)

Weekly Update #221, June is coming to an end...


Welcome to my Weekly Update where I post my blog's schedule for the week!

I'm linking up to The Sunday Post, hosted by Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book ReviewerTynga's Reviews for Stacking the Shelves and Mailbox Monday showcasing the books I added to my shelves or Kindle this week, and It's Monday! What Are You Reading? hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date.

Our garage finally gets fixed up Tuesday, so this very long stint of cleaning is almost at an end. I've been rearranging furniture, organizing, and cleaning for three full weeks now and it's quite exhausting. I've been too tired to read at night or really at any time and I'm now behind, which bugs me quite a bit. We have family in town from both sides of the family over the next two weeks. We're really looking forward to it, but I'd also love some down time after the cleaning is finished to reboot. We also hit record highs this last week, reaching almost 120 degrees. That's hot even for here. This week will be busy, but hopefully a little more relaxing than the last three.


Here's what to expect on the blog:

Family of His Own by Catherine Lanigan (Blog Tour & #Giveaway)

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Book Tour Launch for
Family of His Own
By Catherine Lanigan

THE FAERIE TOUR

Welcome back to THE SHORES OF INDIAN LAKE! If you’re reading the series and following our Prism book tours, I’ll bet you weren’t expecting something as fantastical as a Faerie Tale, especially after dealing with cops, drug dealers and PTSD like we did with Cate Sullivan and Trent Davis in PROTECTING THE SINGLE MOM, now did you?

And who said that Faeries couldn’t be suspenseful or daring? Have you ever seen a faerie? And besides Tinkerbell and the Blue Fairy from Pinocchio, I’m guessing that except for depictions in art, you haven’t a clue what they’re like.

What would it be like if you were an artist like say, Isabelle Hawks, one of Sarah Jensen Bosworth’s best friends, who claims she has seen faeries flitting across Indian Lake and hiding amongst the Lily pads along the shore? What if you based your entire future and art career on portraits of faerie and water sprite faces? Or you believed so much in their magic that you continued to paint them year after year, hoping that someday, you’d be offered a chance to show your art at a famous metropolitan art gallery?

Well, that’s exactly what has happened to Isabelle. She has believed in her talent and her subjects all her life. Now, her chance is here, but on the same magical, romantic New Year’s Eve when she is only days away from showing her art to a Chicago gallery owner, her best friend and confidante, Scott Abbot, proposes marriage to her. His timing is just about the worst in all romantic history. Realities about his own life have hit Scott between the eyes. It doesn’t take a genius to realize that Isabelle is more in love with her career than she is with him. If he wants a family of his own, he’s not going to get it with Isabelle. Knowing he can never love another woman the way he loves Isabelle, Scott offers to become a foster parent to two abandoned children of a drug dealing/ heroin addicted mother.

Dead certain that he would find his life and goals fulfilled with five year old Bella and her eighteen month old brother, Michael, Scott is haunted daily by the void left in his world by Isabelle’s departure. Not only is her art selling well in Chicago, but a disturbingly handsome, famous and talented artist has shown far too much interest in Isabelle.

Scott has always been Isabelle’s rock. He’s been patient. But for the first time, he realizes he has to fight for her love---and fight to win.

Come with me on this new journey to the SHORES OF INDIAN LAKE.

— Catherine

New Releases/#Free & Bargain Books for June 19th - 25th #BookSale


Here are the New Releases / Free & Bargain Books, hosted by
Sharon over at Beck Valley Books, for this week! Check it all out below...

Authors please feel free to add your own books.
Readers please free to add your own finds.
(any genre except erotica welcome)

Mormon Girl: Incognito by Kari Iroz (Blog Tour Review & #Giveaway)


I loved the first book in this series and was excited to jump back in for some laughs,
romance, and danger with Jack and Damon. Read my review and enter the giveaway below...

Mormon Girl: Incognito
by Kari Iroz
LDS Adult Romantic Suspense
Paperback & ebook, 288 Pages
June 1st 2017 by Covenant Communications

Summary

Hilarious heroine Jacklyn Wyatt is back—this time in a dicey Vegas adventure!

Jacklyn “Jack” Wyatt is just your average Mormon girl—other than her brief stint with the FBI, her subsequent brush with death, and her dreamy boyfriend, Special Agent Damon Wade. But in the eight months since she helped save a kidnapping victim, Jack’s life has returned to its mostly stagnant state. She’s still trapped in a dead-end job, and even her relationship seems to be stuck in a rut. These days, adventures are few and far between.

So when Damon heads to Las Vegas on assignment, Jack sees the perfect opportunity to surprise her boyfriend and rekindle the spark in their relationship. But the surprise is on her: she has just landed herself in the middle of a high-stakes operation involving Russian criminals. Unwittingly drawn undercover once more, Jack is all too aware that the survival of Damon and his associates depends on the success of her charade. In the unfamiliar world of luxurious limos, exclusive nightclubs, and gambling, Jack must convince the high-rolling hustlers that she is a terrifying international arms dealer. If only she knew anything about poker. Or guns . . .

(Affiliate links included - I receive a small kickback if you make a purchase using my links.)

Rise of the Sea Witch by Stacey Rourke (Blog Tour Interview & #Giveaway)


I'm welcoming Stacey Rourke to my blog today to answer some questions about her newest book...

Rise of the Sea Witch
by Stacey Rourke
YA Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, ? Pages
June 19th 2017

Summary

Details of the sea witch’s banishment have been exaggerated. The body count that preempted it was not. Once an illustrious princess, her hands and tentacles were stained with the blood of thousands. No one could comprehend how the hooks of madness dragged her down from her life of privilege.

Born Princess Vanessa of Atlantica, the ambitious young royal was one of two children born to the great King Poseidon. She and her brother, Triton, were groomed from birth to rule. Yet only one would ascend that coveted throne. While carefree Triton flits through his training with a cavalier demeanor and beguiling charm, Vanessa’s hunger for her father’s acceptance drives her to push herself to the limits of magic, and combat to become a leader worthy of her people.

When war against the humans ravages their once regal kingdom, political sides are chosen. Factions from the seven seas challenge the existing leadership, pitting Vanessa against her brother in a vicious battle for the crown. Traitors are exposed, dark family secrets revealed, and a once strong sibling bond is strained to its breaking point.

Only when the ink black waters from the ultimate betrayal rescind, will the truth be known of how the villainous sea witch rose with one name on her vengeful lips–Triton.

(Affiliate links included - I receive a small kickback if you make a purchase using my links.)

I can't wait for... Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)


Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. If you're continuing with WOW, feel free to link those up as well! Find out more here.

I love this author! Her writing is always fabulous, as are her characters and plots! I'm quite excited for the beginning of a new series from her. It's my pick this week...

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram (Book Blitz & #Giveaway)

The Ghost of You and Me
by Kelly Oram
YA Contemporary, Paranormal
ebook, 311 Pages
June 20th 2017

Summary

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right…even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

(Affiliate links included - I receive a small kickback if you make a purchase using my links.)


Yesterday's Promise by Michele Paige Holmes (Cover Reveal)


Welcome to the Cover Reveal for
Yesterday's Promise by Michele Paige Holmes
Coming July 5th 2017...
Back to Top