Powered by Blogger.

New Releases/#Free & Bargain Books for May 22nd - 28th #BookSale


Here are the New Releases / Free & Bargain Books, hosted by Sharon over at Beck Valley Books for this week! Check it all out below...

Authors please feel free to add your own books.
Readers please free to add your own finds.
(any genre except erotica welcome)

Favorite Reads for Summertime (Prepping for Summer #1)


Summer officially hits the US on Tuesday, June 20th. Are you ready for summer reading? If you're not and you need some recommendations, I've put together a series of posts to help you out (I'm friendly like that). Welcome to the first post in my Prepping for Summer Series!

It seems I always have a book or my Kindle with me when it's summertime. Sometimes I have some time to kill while the kiddos are taking swim lessons. Sometimes I'm lounging by the pool. Then there are vacations (this summer, it will be camping) when there's downtime and I want to read.

Of course, since I'm a book blogger, I still read all the time regardless of which season it is, but summer always feels different. The kids are out of school. The days are warm. I just feel more relaxed overall (except when it's 120 and I don't want to live in Arizona!). I also generally want to read lighter books (romance just calls to me) or really exciting books (bring on the action and kick-butt heroines!) during the summer.

Now I know not everyone has identical tastes for what they want to read while lounging on the beach, by the pool, on the deck, or wherever you'll be reading this summer, so I've compiled a list of favorites in different genres so you should be able to find something that is just right for you (click on covers to go to my review or Amazon)...

Darkest Days by N.W. Harris (Book Blitz Guest Post & #Giveaway)


Darkest Days
(The Last Orphans #4)
by N.W. Harris
YA Dystopian, SciFi
Paperback & ebook, 229 Pages
May 22nd 2017 by Clean Teen Publishing

Summary

The ancient slave mongers who killed the adults and enslaved the children have angered a more advanced species of aliens. Composed of pure energy, this superior race has attacked the Anunnaki home world and is now setting a course for Earth.

The energy-based aliens believe in a system of trial by battle. They seek to push Shane and his friends into the arena with the ones who killed their parents. The results will determine if humans deserve to live, or if they should be made extinct as well. It’s up to Shane to keep his friends—and an army of kids who look up to him—alive. They’ll be fighting not just for their own lives, but for the fate of the entire human race. Can the enemy of Shane’s enemy be his friend, or is this just another species determined to exploit and destroy them?

(Affiliate links included, meaning I receive a small kickback when you make a purchase using my links.)


Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott (Blog Tour Interview & #Giveaway) @chapterxchapter @authorvscott @EntangledTeen


I'm welcoming author Victoria Scoot today to answer a
few questions. Check that and the giveaway out below...

Violet Grenade
by Victoria Scott
YA Suspense, Thriller
Hardcover & ebook, 366 Pages
May 16th 2017 by Entangled Teen

Summary

DOMINO: A girl with blue hair and a demon in her mind. 

CAIN: A stone giant on the brink of exploding. 

MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.

WILSON: The one who will destroy them all. 

When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind. Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

(Affiliate links included, meaning I receive a small kickback when you make a purchase using my links.)

Fractured Beauty by Adrienne Monson, Lehua Parker, Angela Corbett, Angela Brimhall, & Angela Hartley (Book Blitz & #Giveaway)

 

Fractured Beauty:
The Fairy Tale Five
by Adrienne Monson, Lehua Parker, Angela Corbett, Angela Brimhall, & Angela Hartley
Adult Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Novella
Paperback & ebook, 177 Pages
June 1st 2017 by Tork Media

Summary

Beauty and the Beast may be a tale as old as time, but in this collection by the Fairy Tale Five you’ll meet five newly imagined Belles and the Beasts they love.

Angela Brimhall’s beast is a terrifying sea monster cursed by a scorned gypsy. He must risk all to save the strong-willed princess before losing his last chance at love and redemption, becoming forever damned to the briny deep.

Lehua Parker’s Nani is trapped by Indian and Hawaiian traditions and a fiancé locked in stasis in a medi-mod. Cultures and expectations collide in this sci-fi futuristic world where nano-bot tattoos and dreams reveal the secret of Nani’s heart.

Angela Corbett’s Ledger is determined to find out more about the mysterious woman who saved him from certain death and uncover the secrets of Withering Woods, but some beasts are better left caged.

Adrienne Monson’s Arabella rushes to an enchanted castle to pay her father’s debt, but is met with a burly beast with a mysterious past. It’s a howling paranormal regency romp that will keep you turning pages well past your bedtime.

Angela Hartley’s Porta Bella discovers there’s more to Oregon life than taking care of her father when she finds herself rescued by Bigfoot. It’s up to Porta Bella to unravel the faery’s curse and discover who’s the real monster. 

(Affiliate links included, meaning I receive a small kickback when you make a purchase using my links.)


I can't wait for... The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)


Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released as well. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine. Find out more here.

This cover just looks cool and I love the sound of an underdog trying to save the world. It's my pick this week...

Shatter by Nikki Trionfo (Blog Tour Review, Excerpt & #Giveaway)


Shatter
by Nikki Trionfo
YA Suspense, Thriller
Paperback & ebook, 249 Pages
May 9th 2017 by Cedar Fort, Inc.

Summary

“We never knew there could be people in the orchard. Dangerous people.”

When a mysterious explosion kills her sister, Salem becomes convinced the death was no accident--it was a conspiracy. But no one else at her high school believes her, and all she has so far are theories and clues. With Carrie's killers still out there, Salem's not sure who she can trust. If she can't she prove she’s right before it’s too late, the conspiracy might take another life—hers.

(Affiliate links included, meaning I receive a small kickback when you make a purchase using my links.)

Refuge for Masterminds by Kathleen Baldwin (Blog Tour Review. Excerpt & #Giveaway)


I love this series! Check out my review for this third book, an excerpt, and the giveaway below...

Refuge for Masterminds
(Stranje House #3)
by Kathleen Baldwin

YA Historical
Hardcover & ebook, 352 Pages
May 23rd 2017 by Tor Teen

Summary

Lady Jane Moore has a secret. A secret that must be kept buried. If anyone discovered the truth, her life at Stranje House would crumble. And with Napoleon Bonaparte threatening to invade England, everyone at Stranje House is already in mortal danger.

There’s a traitor in the house. Someone is sneaking information to Napoleon’s spies, Lady Daneska and Ghost. Jane is determined to find out who it is before suspicions rip apart the bonds of friendship at Stranje House. Her desperate hunt for the traitor ensnares a brash young American inventor, Alexander Sinclair, Robert Fulton’s nephew, into an ambush that puts his life in danger. Sinclair is the most maddening young man in all of Christendom, a sharp-tongued rascal with boorish manners, but Lady Jane cannot bear the thought of the golden-haired genius being harmed.

Is Jane enough of a mastermind to save Alexander, her friends at Stranje House, and possibly England itself?

Fans of Gail Carriger, Patricia Wrede, and Caroline Stevermer will love this Regency-era alternate history filled with spunky heroines, handsome young lords, and dastardly villains.

Praise for the Book

"Baldwin has a winning series here: her characters are intriguing and fully rendered." - Stacey Comfort, Booklist

"Refuge for Masterminds moves at a fast pace from the first page and doesn’t stop. Although it is written with a young adult audience in mind, it is a fun and enjoyable novel and will also appeal to adult readers." - Francesca Pelaccia, Historical Novel Society

(Affiliate links included, meaning I receive a small kickback when you make a purchase using my links.)

Weekly Update #216, School is almost over...


Welcome to my Weekly Update where I post my blog's schedule for the week!

I'm linking up to The Sunday Post, hosted by Kimba @ The Caffeinated Book ReviewerTynga's Reviews for Stacking the Shelves and Mailbox Monday showcasing the books I added to my shelves or Kindle this week, and It's Monday! What Are You Reading? hosted by Kathryn @ Book Date.

It was another crazy week. I've had quite a string of them, so I'm looking forward to the kids being out of school, the three youngest this week and the oldest early next week. My days will be much more hectic, but my afternoons and evenings will be much improved. Plus I'm sick of the homework. No, I don't actually do it, but helping four children do it kind of feels like I do. Lol!


I have some awesome books coming up! Plus look for a series of posts to start helping to prep you for summer. Here's what to expect:

New Releases/#Free & Bargain Books for May 15th - 21st #BookSale


Here are the New Releases / Free & Bargain Books, hosted by Sharon over at Beck Valley Books for this week! Check it all out below...

Authors please feel free to add your own books.
Readers please free to add your own finds.
(any genre except erotica welcome)
Back to Top