Check out a Q&A with the author... The Archer at Dawn by Swati Terrdhala (Interview & #Giveaway) @jeanbooknerd


Welcome to my tour stop (follow the tour here)! I'm sharing an interview
with the author today, so check that out and enter the tour giveaway below...

The Archer at Dawn
(The Tiger at Midnight Trilogy #2)
By Swati Terrdhala
YA Fantasy, Mythology
Hardcover, Audiobook & ebook, 449 Pages
May 26th 2020 by Katherine Tegen Books

Summary

Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to The Tiger at Midnight, a world inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology. Perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard.

A stolen throne. A lost princess. A rescue mission to take back what’s theirs.

For Kunal and Esha, finally working together as rebels, the upcoming Sun Mela provides the perfect guise for infiltrating King Vardaan’s vicious court. Kunal returns to his role as dedicated soldier, while Esha uses her new role as adviser to Prince Harun to seek allies for their rebel cause. A radical plan is underfoot to rescue Jansa’s long-lost Princess Reha—the key to the throne.

But amidst the Mela games and glittering festivities, much more dangerous forces lie in wait. With the rebel’s entry into Vardaan’s court, a match has been lit, and long-held secrets will force Kunal and Esha to reconsider their loyalties—to their countries and to each other.

Getting into the palace was the easy task; coming out together will be a battle for their lives. In book two of Swati Teerdhala’s epic fantasy trilogy, a kingdom will fall, a new ruler will rise, and all will burn.

Praise for THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT

“Thrilling, entertaining, and beautifully written, this is one adventure YA fans won’t want to miss.” —Buzzfeed

“[A] vibrantly imagined South Indian–inspired trilogy opener...Teerdhala adds plenty of surprises to her finely limned characters to produce a lush fantasy.” —Publishers Weekly

“Teerdhala’s debut, immersed in Indian fantasy, features two compelling protagonists who must question their loyalties and decide what they’re willing to sacrifice for the chance at a new future. Fast-paced action and a budding romance between emotionally layered characters make this a promising start to a gripping new series.” —ALA Booklist

“[A] lush blend of folklore, fantasy, and romance.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Set in a fantastical South Asia, this combination of romance, action, and magic will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and RenĂ©e Ahdieh. A strong choice for YA fantasy shelves.” —School Library Journal

“Cat-and-mouse maneuvering between assassin Esha and reluctant soldier Kunal will hold you in tantalizing suspense in this searing debut exploring love, loss, and destiny. The Tiger at Midnight is as alluring and fearless as its characters.” —Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

“A deliciously twisty cat-and-mouse story that had me racing through the pages. I love stories that challenge their protagonists’ beliefs, and both Esha and Kunal face complex, heart-breaking decisions in their journey to discover both themselves and each other.” —Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

“Follow Esha and Kunal on a dangerous journey through lush jungles and bustling cities, where the stakes are life and death, and victory comes at a terrible price. Teerdhala has written a masterful debut full of breathless twists and turns and a romance to ignite the senses.” —Axie Oh, author of Rebel Seoul

(Affiliate links included.)

Interview

For those who are new to the series, what should readers know?

THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT is the first in a YA fantasy trilogy that follows the story of Kunal, a dutiful soldier, and Esha, a legendary rebel spy named the Viper. When their paths cross one night and Esha is accused of the murder of Kunal’s General, a dangerous cat and mouse game starts between them, one which throws everything they’ve known into question.

In THE ARCHER AT DAWN, without giving away any spoilers, things have come to a head. Kunal and Esha go to Jansa with the mission of rescuing the Lost Princess just as the Sun Mela, an ancient celebratory tournament, begins. And of course, things get difficult!

Would you tell us about the main characters from THE ARCHER AT DAWN?

Esha and Kunal are the main characters and THE ARCHER AT DAWN is the continuation of their story from book 1 in the series, THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT. When they first start out at the beginning of TIGER, Esha is a legendary rebel known as the Viper who is determined to bring down the hated General of the Red Fortress, but she’s also a girl trying to deal with the pain of her past. Kunal is an obedient soldier for all purposes, but there’s a voice inside him that’s begun to question his duty and wants something more for his future.

When THE ARCHER AT DAWN starts, both Esha and Kunal have had to shed some of their previous identity and discover who they are–and who they want to be.

If we were to come and visit for the Sun Mela, what would the experience be like as a spectator?

Absolutely chaotic, but in the best way possible! I modeled the Sun Mela after the epic tournaments I’d read about in old Indian epics, like the Mahabharata, and the horse races in Siena (which are so cool!). There’s a tournament, which is thrilling, but what I’d absolutely love about it is that it’s also a festival that’s filled with celebration and dancing and overall merry-making. So think colorful, intense, and tons of fun. And tons of food!

What challenged you the most about writing this story, and did you find writing book two a different experience than writing the first book?

Book 2 was a lot harder to write, for sure. The first book in a series opens up a myriad of doors for the story and book 2 will start to narrow them down. Also, everyone talks about the dreaded book 2 syndrome and I tried my hardest to make this book stand on its own as a result. I wanted it to be people’s favorite book in the series if possible!

What’s one of your hobbies or something we might not know about you?

I’ve been dancing and singing for almost two decades now! I used to love performing as a kid and while I haven’t had as many opportunities recently, it’s still something I absolutely love. I’ve actually been thinking of finding some ways to get back on the stage for fun, but I haven’t landed on one thing yet.

What are you working on next?

I’m currently working on edits for Book 3 and I’ve started to write some fun, new ideas I have. Hopefully I can share them with you all soon!

Other Books in the Series

(Linked to an Amazon affiliate link.)

About the Author


Swati Teerdhala is the author of The Tiger at Midnight series, which has appeared on both Barnes and Noble and Book Riot’s Most Anticipated Novels lists.

After graduating from the University of Virginia with a BS in finance and BA in history, she tumbled into the marketing side of the technology industry. She’s passionate about many things, including how the right ratio of curd-to-crust in a lemon tart. She currently lives in New York City.  

PHOTO CONTENT FROM SWATI TEERDHALA


Tour-Wide Giveaway


- 3 Winners will receive a Copy of THE ARCHER AT DAWN by Swati Teerdhala.
- Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter | Ends June 15, 2020

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What did you like about the interview? Have you read this one or The Tiger at Midnight?

No comments

Post a Comment

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.