Waiting on Wednesday: Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins & The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I read Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins last year and really loved it. I actually feel that it has grown on me even more since then. I'm really looking forward to the sequel! Then my second book choice just sounds really good. Troubled girl from the right side of the track falling for the boy from the wrong side of the track? Yep. I like those stories.

Miss Mayhem (Rebel Belle, #2)Miss Mayhem 
(Rebel Belle #2)
by Rachel Hawkins
YA Urban Fantasy, Paranormal
Hardcover, 288 pages
April 7th 2015 by Putnam Juvenile

Summary

Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or connect her to David for life.

Pre-order from:
   

The Truth About UsThe Truth About Us
by Janet Gurtler
YA Contemporary Romance
Paperback, 304 pages
April 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire


Summary

A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart – and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

Pre-order from:
   


Are either of these on your can't-wait-to-read list?


No comments

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top