The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram (Blog Tour Review & #Giveaway)


I've read several of this author's books and she always seems to surprise me, in
a good way. Check out this newest release, my review, and the giveaway below...

The Ghost of You and Me
by Kelly Oram
YA Contemporary
ebook, 311 Pages
June 20th 2017

Summary

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right…even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

(Affiliate links included - I receive a small kickback if you make a purchase using my links.)



My Review

THE GHOST OF YOU AND ME is a story full of heart, family, loss, and love. Perfect for readers who like stories full of emotion and great characters.

Bailey drew me into this story from the first page. She's heartbroken and trying to navigate her life after losing her boyfriend. I was also immediately drawn to Wes when he enters and each time he crashes back into Bailey's life. The characters' emotions were intense and felt genuine. Bailey had a great family and some friends that I loved. Some of her other friends I didn't care for, nor did I understand why she kept them around. I also loved the nurse that trained Bailey at the hospital and some of the other characters. None of them felt one-dimensional or like meaningless inserts.

There were several things that I loved about this story, besides Bailey and Wes. I really loved how Bailey and Wes grew and how they needed to help each other heal. I also loved how Spencer would pop in sometimes when it wasn't convenient to Bailey. He also had this great way of cheering Bailey up, encouraging her, and getting her to laugh. I so loved how the story developed and the very sweet ending.

I did have a few hangups. The drama was really strong in places, and I like my drama more on the minimal side. The romance also was overdone in places between Spencer and Bailey. I wasn't sure how she was supposed to move on when Spencer was still mooning over her every time she saw him and vice versa.

In the end, was it what I wished for? I really enjoyed this one, even with the few hangups. The characters were fabulous and the story definitely was engaging from beginning to end.

Content: Some references to a lesbian friend (for those who are sensitive to that), but clean.
Source: I received a complimentary copy from the tour host, which did not require a review nor affect it in any way.

Excerpt

Our hug goes on long enough that it turns into something more. I’m not sure how to break it up or if I even should. Wes’s embrace started out soft, but now he’s hanging on as if he plans to never let me go. His muscled arms have me trapped against him in a grip I couldn’t escape if I tried, and his cheek is resting on the top of my head. He’s not hugging me; he’s holding me.
As I stand there frozen in shock, one of Wes’s hands slides up my back and he tangles his fingers in my hair. His cheek slides across my head until I feel his face buried in my hair, and he takes a deep breath, inhaling my scent. His grip on me tightens even more, as if he can’t hold me close enough.
There’s something about the moment that feels desperate. It’s as if Wes can’t help himself. It feels as though he’s seized on the tiny bit of comfort I’ve offered him and is trying to soak it all in before it vanishes and he’s left without again. Has he had no one helping him through this for the entire last year? I can’t even imagine what a nightmare it’s been for him to have to deal with Spencer’s death and his mom’s cancer all by himself.

About the Author


Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen–a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which her family and friends still tease her. She’s obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and likes to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, four children, and her cat, Mr. Darcy.


Tour-Wide Giveaway


$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 7/26/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you read this one or will you be?

No comments

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top