Early Review: A Creature of Moonlight - ARC

A Creature of MoonlightA Creature of Moonlight
by Rebecca Hahn
YA Fantasy
May 6th 2014 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt  


Summary

A stunning debut novel about a girl who is half dragon, half human, and wholly herself.

As the only heir to the throne, Marni should have been surrounded by wealth and privilege, not living in exile-but now the time has come when she must choose between claiming her birthright as princess of a realm whose king wants her dead, and life with the father she has never known: a wild dragon who is sending his magical woods to capture her.

Fans of Bitterblue and Seraphina will be captured by a Creature of Moonlight, with its richly layered storytelling and the powerful choices its strong heroine must make.
Pre-order From:
   


My Review

I really enjoy reading most Fantasy novels. I also have been enjoying books with dragons lately. This book was a perfect blend of the two, although more fantasy than dragons. I wasn't exactly sure what to expect when I requested this for review. It isn't a book that I've seen anywhere, but I really liked the premise and the books it referenced in similarity. Bitterblue and Seraphina are both books I loved, so I thought if this was anywhere near what those were like that I would love this book. And guess what? I did!

The storytelling in this book was amazing! I loved the descriptions, but I loved most how you experience things as the character does, either in her memories or in the present. I loved how I could envision the storybook world, it's forests, farmland, castle, and all the creatures and people.

I really loved the characters! Marni is so unique, good, mysterious, and loyal. I loved her grandfather, the queen, and the Lord who becomes her friend. I loved how developed all the characters were. The great thing was that each character isn't overly described and we don't hear all their thoughts, but you just get to know what they are each like in the way they are written. It is the looks and words they give, and their reactions. As I said, really good storytelling! I loved how Marni's relationships were developed or not developed, as was the case a few times. I would have maybe liked a little more romance and maybe for her uncle to not act quite the way he did, but these weren't major things in any way. Romance is not the focal point of this story and it didn't need to be. Marni and the plot carried this story alone.

Yes, let's talk about the plot a little. Marni doesn't remember all that has happened to her. She has a heartbreaking past and lives with her grandfather who has raised her. She grows flowers that are the best to be found in the kingdom. She has always been watched and feels a pull from the creatures in the woods near her home. Woods that also surround the entire kingdom. Her mother died because of these same woods. Her father is supposedly a dragon. She has been protected her whole life, but that protection will not always last. One day soon she will have to face her heritage and the people of her kingdom may not accept what that is. That is about all I can tell you, but I will say that it is a great journey that she undertakes. It is basically a coming of age story.

If you enjoy Juliet Marillier, Jessica Day George, or Seraphina then A Creature of Moonlight is the perfect book for you. I know I loved it and I can't wait to see what this author writes next!

Content: Clean

Source: From Edelweiss, which did not affect my review in any way.


What do you think? Will you be picking this up?

Disclosure: This post contains a link to an affiliate program. If you make a purchase of any type using this link, I receive a small kickback.


No comments

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top