Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George #SilverRA

Join the read-along!

I'm reviewing SILVER IN THE BLOOD as part of a read-along hosted by 
Dena @ Batch of Books and I (Tressa @ Wishful Endings).

In case you want to check them out, you can see the author's intro to the book here,
my mid-point thoughts here, and an interview with the author and my final thoughts here.
Don't forget to enter the Amazon gift card and book giveaway as well!

Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood, #1)Silver in the Blood
(Silver in the Blood #1)
by Jessica Day George
YA Urban Fantasy, Paranormal
Hardcover, 358 pages
July 7th 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Summary

New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

   

My Review

Silver in the Blood is a darker tale than what Jessica Day George normally writes and more serious. At the same time there is a lightness, friendship, and humor present as well. The story is mysterious, fraught with danger, filled with family and friendships, and laced with romance. The pace is steady, with an intensity that slowly builds so that by the end I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. 

I loved these characters. Dacia at first was a little frustrating with her constant flirting and getting carried away in the social show. She was definitely what I would consider flighty, but she also was confident and spontaneous. Lou, Dacia's cousin and best friend, was much more timid. A girl who dreams about going to college even though it isn't really the social thing to do. She's smart and level-headed. I liked her immediately. Then mysteries were revealed, there were twists and turns, and both girls changed. By the end they both came into their own and they were marvelous. 

There were several other characters that had various roles. I loved Lord Johnny. He was intense and sweet and just overall marvelous. I detested Aunt Kate in parts and then liked her in others. Radu, the girls' Romanian cousin, was a fun chum and loyal. I absolutely couldn't stand Prince Mihai or Lady Ioana. I don't know how anyone could even like them. They do wield power. There was also Lou's family who were fun, but also heartbreaking. Mr. Arkady really got under Lou's skin and it was interesting to see their relationship develop.

I was intrigued from the start with this story. It was full of mystery, between a scandal involving Dacia in England, to the family secret. The mysteries weren't revealed until much later on, not until after the half-way point. The intensity slowly built and then the second half of the book picked up. By the end it was crazy, intense, chaotic, dangerous, but also a perfect ending for this first book. There was romance that was fun and a little crazy and intense itself. The historical setting was fabulous! I loved the letters at the beginning of each chapter and the culture that conflicted with what was going on and how it added to the overall plot.

If you enjoy YA paranormal, urban fantasy, or Gothic stories with a slightly darker edge then I'd recommend Silver in the Blood. I'm looking forward to seeing what dangerous predicaments Dacia and Lou find themselves in next.

Content: There is some reference to the characters without their clothes on necessary to the story, a reference to attempted rape, one swear word, and some violence.
Source: I would like to thank Bloomsbury for my complimentary eARC through NetGalley, which did not affect my review in any way. Also purchased.


Do you have any thoughts? Is this a book you think you'd enjoy reading?

No comments

I love comments! I try to read and reply to them all. Feel free to agree or disagree and generally share your thoughts with me.

Back to Top